Belgian-Canadian project

At the initiative of the City of Roeulx Municipal College, a working group was formed in May 2014.

It consists of representatives of the City and the Board of Tourists, Canadian soldiers stationed in SHAPE and local historians.

Since it was started in 2014, the project received the support of the Canadian Ambassador, the attention of the Canadian Minister of Veterans Affairs who incidentally honored us with visiting the site in August 2014 and the collaboration of the Belgian Minister of Tourism and Landscaping Management of DGO1.

The Wallonia Arts Commission is also co-operating in the project by selecting the artist who will create the monument.

Bonds of Belgian-Canadian friendship gradually developed through the many meetings of the working group.

This helped to develop related events such as the Canadian Military Corps’ active participation at the annual 11 November commemoration and the inauguration of the future Memorial located near George Price nursery and primary school on 24 April 2015.

© Jean Leclercq

© Jean Leclercq

George Price or the archetype of freedom

Over time, the person George Price became anchored in the hearts of the Rhodians.

To the citizens of Roeulx, at the time, the arrival of Canadians in the city felt like a really “deep breath”, a relief.

Moreover, there are numerous tributes to their presence in Roeulx, as demonstrated particularly by the “rue Canadienne” (Canadian Street) or the “rue de la Liberté” (Liberty Street) (symbol of the liberation of Roeulx by Canadians). For Ville-sur-Haine, the Price monument itself is a symbol of freedom.

 

© Jean Leclercq

© Jean Leclercq

The aim of George Price’s presence in our homeland was to counter the enemy, protect people and liberate our lands from the German presence.

In doing so, for Rhodians and, on a larger scale, for the entire country of Belgium, this Canadian soldier symbolizes the Allied Forces fighting alongside the Belgians.

United in the same fight and battling against the same outrages, Canadians and Belgians fought together for peace and freedom.

George Price, therefore, also serves as an example, a hero to the extent that he alone represents all the courage and determination of the soldiers who came to fight, sometimes losing their life on Belgian territory. Thus, our entire Belgian community recognizes this man as a model figure, fighting beyond the borders in order to guarantee a better future.

Every year on the occasion of the commemoration of the end of the First World War, the students of the schools in Roeulx come to pay tribute to George Price.

Often, they are deeply touched by the fact that he was killed two minutes before the implementation of the cease-fire, subsequent to the signing of the Armistice.

It is certainly the feeling of injustice and powerlessness that increased the people’s emotional support for the person George Price.

Because of this enormous symbolic and emotional charge that sustains the persona of Private George Price, the City of Roeulx would like to renew his memory by giving him a worthy place of tribute among the great heroes of history, hence completely renewing his current memorial.

With this memorial project, which allows us to express our gratitude regarding the commitment of the countries of the Commonwealth during the First World War, we strive to promote Remembrance Tourism which involves civic duty and educational enrichment while contributing to the economic and cultural life of the regions.

 

Remembrance Tourism

Remembrance Tourism, also called Memorial Tourism, is a form of sightseeing which is to emphasize the historical heritage of the place, especially when that site was marked by a one-time event, significant in the sense of maybe becoming an initiator or being potentially painful. This can be a battle, a political act or a massacre. Remembrance Tourism therefore develops especially with the visit of notable historic sites, military cemeteries and ancient monuments, but also Memorial Buildings constructed after and, independently of, the event (museums and memorials) – Wikipedia definition

Comments are closed

Projet belgo-canadien

À l’initiative du Collège communal de la Ville du Roeulx, un groupe de travail a été mis en place en mai 2014.

Celui-ci est constitué de représentants de la Ville et de l’Office du Tourisme, des militaires canadiens basés au SHAPE et d’historiens locaux.

Depuis son initiative en 2014, le projet a obtenu le soutien de l’Ambassadeur du Canada, l’attention du Ministre canadien des Anciens Combattants qui nous a d’ailleurs fait l’honneur de visiter le site en août 2014 et la collaboration du Ministre belge du Tourisme et de la Direction des Aménagements paysagers de la DGO1.

La Commission des Arts de Wallonie collabore également au projet dans le cadre de la sélection de l’artiste qui réalisera le monument.

Des liens d’amitiés belgo-canadiens se sont tissés progressivement au fil des nombreuses rencontres des membres du groupe de travail.

Cela a permis de développer des évènements connexes tels que la participation active du corps militaire canadien à la commémoration annuelle du 11 novembre ou encore l’inauguration, le 24 avril 2015, de l’école maternelle et primaire George Price située à proximité du futur Mémorial.

© Jean Leclercq

© Jean Leclercq

 

George Price ou l’archétype de la liberté

Au fil du temps, la personne de George Price s’est ancrée dans le cœur des Rhodiens.

L’arrivée des Canadiens au Roeulx a été vécue par les citoyens de l’époque comme un véritable « souffle », un soulagement.

Il existe d’ailleurs au Roeulx de nombreuses références à leur présence comme en témoignent notamment la rue Canadienne ou encore celle de la Liberté (symbole de la libération du Roeulx par les Canadiens). Pour les Ville-sur-Hainois, le monument Price lui-même est un symbole de liberté.

© Jean Leclercq

© Jean Leclercq

La présence de George Price chez nous avait pour objectif de contrer l’ennemi, protéger les populations et libérer nos terres de la présence allemande.

Ce faisant, ce soldat canadien incarne pour les Rhodiens, et à plus large échelle pour la Belgique entière, les forces alliées venues combattre aux côtés des Belges.

Unis dans le même combat et contre les mêmes outrages, Canadiens et Belges luttaient ensemble pour la paix et la liberté.

George Price fait dès lors également figure d’exemple, d’archétype dans le sens où il représente à lui seul tout le courage et la détermination des soldats venus combattre parfois jusqu’à la mort sur le territoire belge. Par-là, c’est toute notre communauté belge qui reconnaît en cet homme un modèle luttant au-delà des frontières afin de garantir à chacun un avenir meilleur.

Chaque année, à l’occasion de la commémoration de la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, les élèves des écoles du Roeulx viennent rendre hommage à George Price.

Ils sont d’ailleurs souvent profondément touchés par le fait que celui-ci ait été tué deux minutes avant la mise en application du cessez-le-feu consécutif à la signature de l’Armistice.

C’est certainement ce sentiment d’injustice et d’impuissance qui a favorisé l’adhésion affective des populations pour la figure de George Price.

En raison de cette énorme charge symbolique et affective que porte la figure du soldat George Price, la Ville du Roeulx souhaite renouveler sa mémoire en lui offrant un lieu d’hommage digne des grands héros de l’histoire et donc en renouvelant complètement son mémorial actuel.

Par ce projet de mémorial, qui permettrait de témoigner notre reconnaissance envers l’engagement des pays du Commonwealth lors de la Première Guerre Mondiale, nous nous efforçons de promouvoir le Tourisme de Mémoire qui participe au devoir d’enrichissement civique et éducatif tout en contribuant à la vitalité économique et culturelle des territoires.

Tourisme de mémoire

Le tourisme de mémoire, appelé aussi tourisme mémoriel, est une forme de tourisme qui consiste à mettre en avant le patrimoine historique du lieu, en particulier quand le site en question a été marqué par un évènement ponctuel, marquant en ce qu’il peut être fondateur ou potentiellement douloureux. Ce peut être une bataille, un acte politique, un massacre. Le tourisme de mémoire se développe donc notamment par la visite de sites historiques notables, de cimetières militaires et de monuments anciens, mais aussi d’édifices commémoratifs bâtis après et indépendamment de l’évènement (musées et mémoriaux) – Définition Wikipédia

Les commentaires sont clos.